Skip to main content

Arkansas Science Olympiad

Posted Date: 04/16/2018

Arkansas Science Olympiad

Nettleton High School and Jr. High School competed in the Arkansas Science Olympiad. Each team competed in 21 science and engineering related events. For the 5th straight year the jr. high team finished in the top 3 among the competing schools.  

The team also received the inaugural Raye Montague award. This award is for the team placing the highest among all schools competing with the highest number of female participants. Raye Montague is a “hidden figure” of the US Navy. She was the first person to design a ship using a computer program. Ms. Montague is a native Arkansan.

Winners' List Nettleton Junior High School
State Science Olympiad
Anatomy & Physiology 6th: Alexia Krauss, Makayla Ugbaja
Battery Buggy Silver: Stefon Amos, Landen Newson
Dynamic Planet Bronze: Alyssa Willie, Brandon Troutman
Ecology 6th: Alexia Krauss, Landen Newson
Experimental Design Bronze: Hope Foster, Alexia Krauss, Jayita Ujjaini
Fast Facts Bronze: Claire Ballard, Tyler Wheeless
Herpetology 4th: LJ Ervin, Tyler Wheeless
Hovercraft Bronze: Landen Newson, Gwyneth Lee
Meteorology Bronze: Alyssa Willie, David Virts
Microbe Mission 6th: Alexia Krauss, LJ Erivin
Mystery Architecture 5th Gwyneth Lee, Emma Gregory
Optics Silver: Hope Foster, Jayita Ujjaini
Potions & Poisons 6th: LJ Ervin, Hope Foster
Road Scholar 6th: Claire Ballard, Emma Gregory
Rocks & Minerals Silver: Tyler Wheeless, Brandon Troutman
Roller Coaster Gold: Cameron Holder, Brandon Troutman
Solar System 6th: David Virts, Alyssa Willie
Thermodynamics 4th: David Virts, Makayla Ugbaja
Towers Bronze: Stefon Amos, Claire Ballard
Wright Stuff Bronze: Gwyneth Lee, Emma Gregory
Write It/Do It 8th: Tyler Wheeless, Cameron Holder

9th grade students